An Interview With Hakeem Effect; Nigeria’s Incredibly Awesome Prosthetic Makeup Artist!

While men slept, some discovered their talent. They proceeded to hone their natural skills and today they’re profiting off it.
We’ve all seen movies with familiar actors becoming virtually unrecognisable in their roles, right? We’ve seen the impact of a gun shot at close range and we cringe because it looks so real, we’ve also seen facial deformities, inflicted injuries, body scars, horrifying butchery, monsters, aliens, all thanks to prosthetics and special effects!

Without prosthetics, most movies could pass for a primary
school drama.
Believe it or not, Hakeem is the best prosthetic makeup artist in Nigeria and West Africa! His works speak for him. You will marvel at the things he’s capable of. Little wonder he’s the highest paid prosthetic artist in Nigeria! When you get calls on a daily basis from countries like Ghana, Cameroon, Kenya and Tanzania, you just know that you’re a SUCCESS!

Now, The question that’s always on everyone’s lips is, “what gave birth to this idea?” He answers some of your questions in this interview.

‘ Hakeem Effect Onilogbo’ was born in the late 70s. He hails from Abeokuta Ogun state,
In his words,
“I am from a polygamous family, the second of eight kids, I’ve always dreamed of becoming an actor, that’s what led me to act in some films in the past.
I attended several auditions back then. I first starred in the movie ‘Awo Jesu’, An Ore Ofe williams production. I played the role of king’s messenger (Bosude).

At a point, I just knew that I have to become a force in the film industry, aside being just an actor. God changed my direction abruptly. I just discovered the talent within me without no mentor, boss, or any concise training.”

LEVEL OF EDUCATION AQUIRED?
Of all my siblings, i am the only one that didn’t go to higher institution because growing up was tough. I had to run away from home, which denied me of going to university, but God orders the steps of his people, and a man’s talent maketh him dine among kings. I didn’t go to any higher institution, but he took me to the highest institution that i value above all higher institution. I am the no 1 prosthetic makeup artist in the whole West Africa today. I thank God i didn’t waste more time in the university before i discovered myself.

HOW DID YOU DISCOVER THIS HUGE THING INSIDE YOU?
It’s A dream, I am a dreamer, when I converted to a Christian in 2005, he told me in my dream if I can follow him he will show me new skills in me. And he did as he promised. He teaches me most things from my dream.

DID YOU GO FOR FURTHER TRAINING TO BRUSH UP THE SKILL?
None at all, God gave me one talent which is the power to see and to replicate, any thing I see, I can replicate. And the knowledge increased day by day. Most especially He appears to teach me most things while am asleep.

HOW MANY MOVIES HAVE YOU DISPLAYED YOUR POWERFUL DEXTERITY UPON?
Its about 50 films or more.

YOUR CRAFT LOOKS SO REAL AND PERFECT, HOW EXPENSIVE DO YOU CHARGE?
Very expensive sometimes, it depends on the script. but i am d highest paid makeup artist in Nigeria for now. And its simply because of the products I use for my jobs. I import them all.

LIKE HOW MUCH DO YOU CHARGE? YOUR HIGHEST CHARGE?
1. 2Million. *smiles*

HMM..YOUR WORTH
Its God dat maketh riches. I have struggled years back, if am enjoying now its all the favour of God.

YOUR CHEAPEST FEE?
150000. But it depends on the script actually.

SO HOW DOES HAKEEM RELAX WHEN HIS NOT ON SET?
i spend quality time with my families, wife and children. I have cool and good times with them mostly.

WHAT WILL YOU NEVER BE CAUGHT DOING?
Drinking alcohol, smoking, and fighting. they are my don’t(s).

YOUR MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENT?
I have a lot, when I was still doing beauty makeover, and a lady told me to wash my hands before touching her face. And the most embarrassing one of it all was when I begged a director to shift a date that I wanted to finish a job at hand, and the director told me who am I to shift the date because of me, he addressed me as an ordinary crew, am I that valuable?

That he can’t shift the date because of me, I looked down on my self that day because people around the director laughed at me. But I thank God today a lot of production waited 4 me , shifted their jobs because of me.

YOUR BIGGEST DREAM TO COME TRUE?
My biggest dream come through is that, I am the one God used for west Africa to change the face of West Africa special effect makeup. And to do prosthetics makeup which Africans never dreamt of in years to come. It is quite a big dream come true and highly fulfilling.

DO YOU WISH TO WORK WITH THE HOLLYWOOD PRODUCERS AND DIRECTORS?
Absolutely yes. God is still taking me there i hope.

SHOUT OUT TO FANS?
i love you all, and God will continue to bless you all. Hakeem effect is grateful.

Hakeem Onilogbo
Make-Up Artist [Special Effects]
CEO Hakeem Effect

2 comments

Leave a Reply

