Good to Go – by Precious Okoro

When I first saw my Call-up letter, I was a tad annoyed. Plateau State? Fear North, they say.

Friends panicked. Everyone looked at me as though I was to be most pitied. Someone even recommended a radio I’d stay glued to, just like the Aboki, so as to know when it’s time to run.

My anticipated ebooks – “The life of a Lagos” whore and “Campus Affair” are available. Get Your Copies Now! And enjoy an in-depth view of real life happenings in our society – the bad and the ugly! It also serves as an eye opener.
To get copies, email: maduka_ekene@yahoo.com
Facebook- Bismark Ekenedilichukwu Benson

The evening I was set to leave for Plateau, our neighbour, an elderly woman, summarised her last minute advice in two words: Be Careful.

Fast forward to today, this minute. I’m in my room, still a Plateau Corps member, with no radio or reason to run. I had Tuwo Shinkafa and Miyan Kuka for breakfast. I didn’t redeploy as planned and I have no regrets whatsoever. Plateau state, with all her tourist attractions, is the place to be. She will leave you addicted. Talk about the home of a mighty rock that comfortable sits on the pointy head of a tiny rock. Wonders!

Tomorrow is POP and I am so good to go. Heaven knows I will miss a lot about this place when I finally leave. Who NYSC help, you say? E help me wella.

Serving on the Plateau corrected a lot of misconceptions I had about the North and Northerners. I discovered that not all Northerners are Hausas or Muslims and, for the fact that one is a Northerner doesn’t make one a terrorist. There are a lot of good people here who are victims of hurtful generalisation and heartbreaking stereotypes. A visit will convince you. Plateau is the home of hospitality. She is the phoenix, reborn from ashes.


Precious Okoro

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close